CON Contact Us DON Donate
Our History General Assembly Worldwide Outreach Ministries Standards Resources

Today in OPC History

History Image

January 10

Caney, Kansas

On January 10, 1968, Caney Orthodox Presbyterian Church in Caney, Kansas, was established as an official OPC congregation by the Presbytery of the Dakotas. Many in the congregation had previously been affiliated with the United Presbyterian Church in Caney under the ministry of Pastor Bruce Brawdy. However, the adoption of the Confession of 1967 in that denomination led to a vote to withdraw. After the vote narrowly lost, Mr. Brawdy resigned and a minority followed him into the OPC.

Among the pastors following Mr. Brawdy at Caney OPC were Richard Nelson, Dennis Prutow, Leroy Miller, William Miller, Patrick Malone, and Tim Black. In 2016, Caney OPC closed.

Picture: The congregation in 1995.

© 2019 The Orthodox Presbyterian Church



Chaplains and Military Personnel

Diaconal Ministries


Inter-Church Relations

Ministerial Care

Planned Giving

Short-Term Missions


Church Directory

Daily Devotional

Audio Sermons

Trinity Hymnal

Camps & Conferences

Gospel Tracts

Book Reviews



Presbyterian Guardian